These United States

So I got my first Etsy sale on March 8, 2012 for a pair of custom rain boots that needed to go to Castle Dale Utah. I was so happy although it took two months to get that sale I was officially in business. I received my second order in March also and that pair of camo boots went to San Francisco California! It would be several months before I got another order and ironically the next three orders went to Australia…yeah I typed Australia. I was floored not only was I selling my work to people in the US but I now could say I was an international seller. Where am I going with this, its not to brag, its to tell you the goal that slowly developed as I sold more. In 18 months of selling I have 31 sales, and those sales had me thinking…inner monologue went like this. “How cool would it be to ship and item to every state in the US?”

photo

Here is the finished pin board my son and I created today. I hope to add to it soon!

It stayed an inner thought until one day I voiced this thought to my wonderful supportive husband, who someday I should promote to manager. He has ideas that I don’t know how I didn’t think of them. Case in point his response to what had been just my inner thought was “so print out a map and put thumbtacks in the states you’ve sold to.” Brilliant why didn’t I think of that. Fast forward to many months later and I finally put that brilliant idea into action.

My son, who is 8 and out of school for the summer, offered to help make this board. A small feat getting him to agree to help. So this morning we set off the Walmart and I bought a cork board and push pins, which he insisted on being black, so you can see them. We printed out a map of the US, Canada, and Australia. We put on the maps got our black pushpins ready and I pulled up my sold orders on Etsy. We began filling in the map.

This is the pin board that my son and I created today!

I set off to work as usual on Tuesday but once I got home and saw my board I was inspired again by those United States. I am a history buff and love the show on TV called “How the States Got Their Shape” I find it so interesting to know the history behind the states. So once again I turned to Etsy and created a treasury of state inspired items. I have house wares like pillows and coffee mugs, to cool artwork using words to make up a state and string. The history buff in me put a few vintage maps in there too. Check out the treasury on Etsy and get inspired too.

You can find other treasuries that I have created by following my on Etsy @TheCottonRoad, or you can get updates on my Facebook page to also The Cotton Road

I love taking a simple idea and making it fun. So if you have an idea for a treasury leave a comment and maybe my next treasury and blog post can be inspired by you!logob

Leave a Reply

