Just One Of My Favorite Things….

When I was a a little girl I would sit at my aunts kitchen table and watch her crochet with the fractaldoilytiniest hook. I would sit and watch in awe as a ball of string became a Barbie dress, or a doily. I marveled at how she could do it as I had yet to master using the big hook! My Barbie was one well dressed doll, let me tell you.

I spent the next 10 years mastering the big hook. I was finally ready to try a doily. I went to the library and checked out some thread crochet books, filet crochet books and spent nights trying to find the perfect pattern. I fell in love with a pansy doily. I set off to the craft store, pattern in hand, and bought the smallest thread ever. I couldn’t believe I was about to crochet with that. I bought the right hook and went home to start. It went fairly well, so well that that I made both my mom and my mother in law a pansy doily for Mothers day that year (2003). I added a linen table ruDSCF3728nner with crocheted ends a few years later. Seven years later I tackled a giant doily for my mother for her birthday. It was an amazing Crocus doily pattern that measured 23″ in diameter.

That doily took so much out of me that I didn’t really touch thread to much anymore. I also started my business shortly after that and unfortunately thread crochet is very time consuming, so it wasn’t something I offered in my shop in the beginning.

Fast forward to February 2014 I saw this doily posted in a Facebook group. I had to have this DSCF3731doily, along with many others in the group, the woman posted the link to the doily on Ravelry. Most people when they hear the word doily immediately have a flash back to grandma’s table with the pineapple doily on the table you can’t touch.  This was and is not grandma’s doily. The name was called Fractal doily. I had never heard of a fractal, fraction maybe, which made me think this is math related. If you Google Fractal Wikipedia will tell you “A fractal is a natural phenomenon or a mathematical set that exhibits a repeating pattern that displays at every scale. If the replication is exactly the same at every scale, it is called a self-similar pattern.” See I knew math was involved. That scared me slightly but I bought the pattern anyways. I knew that this doily was going to be for me. I went to Joann’s and bought the most beautiful teal color thread. On February 16th I started my doily. We had some up and downs in the beginning. I say we because this doily became a labor of love. There were weeks, months that I had so many orders I couldn’t even think about DSCF3734picking it up. Sometimes I would start again and within a day of working on it I’d get orders and have to put it away. I vowed to have this WIP done before February of 2015. See my last Blog Post for all the WIPS that aren’t done. I finished crocheting the doily in early January. It sat for a few days because I got orders. On January 14th I pinned it to a blocking mat and waited. Last night when I got home from work I took the pins out and put it on the dinning room table. It is just as amazing as I envisioned the first time I saw it on Facebook. I put my Owl vase my husband and son got me for my birthday that is filled with purple Cala Lillys in the center. I can’t stop looking it at it!!!!

This is probably my favorite thing I’ve ever made. Not so much because its mine, because I love making things for others, but because its so unique. The crochet world has hundreds of stitches and the possibilities are endless. Lots of items look unique but this doily uses one of the most basic stitches, the double crochet and is probably the most unique looking doily I’ve ever seen. This is why its not your grandma’s doily. If you have ever wanted to try a doily I highly suggest this one. DSCF3718

I have officialy completed a WIP from last year!!! I have several (four) more to go! I’ll get there but for now I’m just going to sit and look at the doily and feel a little sense of pride that 22 years later i’m sitting at the table and marveling at my own thread crochet project hoping my aunt can see it!

~Blessings

Mel

2 thoughts on “Just One Of My Favorite Things….

Leave a Reply

