Oh Granny Journal Cover

DSCF3740In a previous blog I stated some of my goals for the year. Finishing the abundant WIPS that fill every nook and cranny of the house was one. I’m working on that I have one done and its a beautiful doily. Check out my previous blog Just One Of My Favorite Things to see it. I felt so accomplished having started on goals that I thought “Hey why not tackle another goal!” I started writing a pattern….DSCF3739

That’s right, my other goal was to become a pattern designer this year. I spent a few days looking at granny square pattern books because I had this idea for a journal cover in my head for years. That was going to be my first pattern. So I took a few days to write and painstakingly take pictures, with a little help from my wonderfully supportive husband, I had all the makings for a pattern.

I spent a day editing photos and writing the pattern. FYI if you decide you want to write patterns I suggest checking out Selena Baca of Baca Creations for her pattern template. It was a big help when I went to type DSCF3744all my scribbles up.  After I finished all that up I asked for testers. I had wrote that pattern so it could be made in one color or two. So I had three lovely ladies make it in a solid color and three make a two toned journal cover. They turned out amazing and I was surprised that they didn’t find more mistakes than they did. One of my lovely testers even modified the cove to fit her Bible to protect the worn cover. I added that adjustment to the pattern.

Today I achieved a goal!!!! I published my first pattern on Raverly, Etsy, Craftsy, and Loveknitting! Holy Cow Y’all I did it! Don’t worry it doesn’t stop here because I’ve got a second pattern already in the works. Want a hint…..its more granny squares but there are lots of them and you join as you go so stay tuned for it! I have a feeling there is going to be lots of patterns coming!DSCF3741

Best

~Mel

 

Leave a Reply

