Anchor’s away…

If you’ve read any of my previous blogs, you know a few things. crocheting is my passion, i’m from Buffalo NY and I’m a DSCF4092slightly loud Italian. I created my original buffalo pillow and expanded the buffalo line to include the three most prominent heritages in the Buffalo NY, Italian, Irish and Polish. Ok well the Polish one is in graph form not yet made but the intent is there. The next thing to remember about me is I’m obsessed with pillows and graph patterns. I took that obsession and turned it into two more pillows.

There are two inspirations for these pillows. One I received an email for pattern submissions to a magazine and some fabric I saw at JoAnn’s, when buying what else…yarn. I read through the email and with the image of the fabric stuck in my head, and when I read the theme for the July issue I knew what to do…a pillow! So I began the arduous process of drawing and three graphs later I had the vision Anchor's Away Pillowin my head on paper. That spiraled into a whole line of pillows. What is you ask? Well if the title of the post, and the pictures weren’t a give away I’ll just tell you, its a beach theme, and the fabric was dark blue with white anchors.

So the first pattern had to be an anchor pillow. I responded to the email and the editor loved the idea, so I took my graph and went back to JoAnn’s to get just the right shade of blue and red. I loved how that pillow turned out not even a third of the way through. I set out to create a whole DSCF4102nautical theme. I did a lot of Googling and tried to see what would translate into a graph, most of the nautical items I found were round and round is not  an easy shape to translate into a graph. I settled on a sail boat as my second pattern in the line. I would like to add a whale and possibly a captain’s wheel if I can figure out that pesky circle.

I submitted the anchor pattern to Happily Hooked Magazine and they loved it! This for me is a big accomplishment. Way back in January one of my goals for my business this year was to start writing and publishing patterns. I had achieved that with several published patterns in Ravelry but I never imagined in January that I would have a pattern published in a magazine. It is so beyond the goal that I set. I wont be stopping here though I have several ideas for upcoming issuesLet's Sail Away of the magazine so stay tuned.

Back to the anchor pillow, if you would like to have the pattern you ‘ll have to subscribe to Happily Hooked Magazine. The publication date is July 15th. If you would like the sailboat it is available now in my Ravelry Shop, along with the Buffalo pillows and a few other patterns.

Thank you all for your support in this wild adventure!

Blessings

~Mel

2 thoughts on “Anchor’s away…

Leave a Reply

